South Jersey Police Departments Honored for Community Policing Efforts

The New Jersey Attorney General distributed Community Policing Awards to more than 30 law enforcement agencies yesterday, including a number of South Jersey police departments, officers and initiatives.

Atlantic City, Camden County, Evesham Township, Paulsboro and Westampton Township police departments were honored for their efforts to adopt community policing.

These departments have used various initiatives to engage with residents, improve relationships between police and the community and lower crime rates. Initiatives ranged from “Shop with a Cop” events to ride along programs to reading buddy programs.

Individuals who were also honored include:

  • Cinnaminson Township’s Officer Michael Czerzasty
  • Camden County’s Lt. Jeremy Merck
  • Riverside Township’s Captain Hans Jaensch
  • Riverside Township’s Patrolman Timothy Marano
  • Riverside Township’s SLEO Michael Hynes
  • West Deptford’s School Resource Officer David Jules
  • Woodbury City’s Patrolmen Carl Villone, Alex Phillips, Nick Cacciola, Joe Wills, Will Sheehan and Joseph Duffy


Cumberland County Law Enforcement’s Community Engagement Series was also honored.


Both Camden County and Evesham’s police departments were featured in videos during the ceremony – watch them both below.


Camden County Police Department




Evesham Police Department

Related Articles

Comments are closed.

Answering Your Questions about New Jersey's Cannabis Industry

Get SJ Mag in Your Inbox

Subscribe for the latest on South Jersey dining, weekend entertainment, the Shore and much more - sent directly to your inbox.

* indicates required
Email Format
April 2024 Issue (600 × 500 px)