You Might Be Able to Buy (And Set Off) Fireworks in New Jersey Soon

A bill allowing the sale and possession of certain fireworks is heading to Governor Chris Christie’s desk.

The law would permit residents age 16 and older to buy certain fireworks. Lawmakers hope the change will help New Jersey benefit from the “$700 million consumer pyrotechnics industry,” according to a statement from Assemblyman John J. Burzichelli, who sponsored the bill.

“The state’s ban on buying fireworks doesn’t stop people from buying fireworks. It just means people go elsewhere to make the purchase, and the associated tax revenue goes to another state,” Burzichelli said.

Fireworks that would be allowed by the bill include:

  • Wire sparklers with up to 100 grams of pyrotechnic mixture each
  • Non-explosive handheld or ground-based sparkling devices with up to 75 grams of pyrotechnic composition per tube
  • Snakes and glow worms, smoke devices and trick noisemakers, which include party poppers, snappers and drop pops


Currently, anyone caught selling fireworks in the state could face up to 18 months in jail and up to $10,000 in fines, and those caught using fireworks could be fined up to $500.

Related Articles

Comments are closed.

From Mariah Carey's Backup Dancer to TV Designer | MILLENNIALS LOOKING FOR MENTORS

Get SJ Mag in Your Inbox

Subscribe for the latest on South Jersey dining, weekend entertainment, the Shore and much more - sent directly to your inbox.

* indicates required
Email Format
April 2024 Issue (600 × 500 px)